Skip to main content

Baldur’s Gate 3 PSA: You can’t remove multiplayer characters from your party

If you invite a friend to join your BG3 party, it may be impossible to get rid of their character

Baldur’s Gate 3 released just over a week ago to rave reviews which arrived a bit later due to the sheer size of the game, and naturally, players have been rushing to join the fray, helping the game peak at more than 800k concurrents on Steam.

The game features a robust multiplayer mode for co-op play, which is a dream come true for many Dungeons & Dragons fans who’ve always wanted to translate their tabletop experience with friends into a CRPG.

Multiplayer mode not only allows you to start a new campaign with up to three friends at a time, but also lets you invite friends to an existing solo playthrough, and they can join you on your adventures by creating a new custom character that will immediately scale up to match your party level.

Baldur's Gate 3 multiplayer session manager

BG3's multiplayer mode lets you team up with friends and split control over party members.

That’s great for anyone who wants to bring friends at any point in the game, but there is something that Baldur’s Gate 3 doesn't warn you about. If you invite one or more friends to join in the middle of your existing playthrough, the characters they create will become permanently locked into your party, and you won’t be able to dismiss them from the party and place them in the camp.

This means that any character created by a friend will occupy a party slot for the rest of your playthrough and you won’t be able to replace it with one of the origin characters you recruit as companions throughout the game.

You won’t be able to talk to a multiplayer character, neither in the world nor at your camp, so there is no way to ask them to leave the party and stay in the camp. There is no option to remove the character from the game in the Party or Session screen either. Killing such character is not an option either as it will still take up a slot in the party. At least you should be able to control these characters, if your friend has left and is not available to join again when you want to play.

As we mentioned, the game does not warn you about this behavior, so in extreme cases, it is possible that you invite two or three friends into your game for a few hours, only to discover that you are stuck with their characters for the rest of the playthrough, and some of them may be completely useless for your party comp. Or you may want to bring back some of the useful origin characters, which you won’t be able to do, as all your party slots would be full.

Astarion won't join your BG3 party because it is full

Astarion can’t join your party, because it’s full.

Many players who stumbled upon this inconvenience first thought that it must be a bug, but it seems to be how multiplayer mode is designed to work. Hopefully, Larian will add an option to dismiss multiplayer characters at any time and send them to your camp.

Until they do this, if they ever, the only way to get rid of unwanted characters created by your friends is to load a previous save of the same playthrough from before your co-op partners joined. Depending on how long your friends played with you, this could mean losing hours upon hours of progress and likely getting very different outcomes when replaying these sections of the game solo. In a game that takes more than a 100 hours to beat, setbacks like this can be very frustrating.

So, make sure you do a manual save right before you invite friends to join your game. This way you’ll minimize progress loss if you want to go back and replay without the multiplayer characters. Also, if you're fine sticking with your friends’ creations, tell your co-op partners to build characters that will be useful as permanent additions to your party. 

If you want to learn more about each class’ strengths and weaknesses, check out our BG3 class tier list, and if your friends are joining a game for the first time, they could use our Baldur’s Gate 3 tips and tricks guide.