Skip to main content

Remnant 2: How to unlock secondary archetypes

How to unlock secondary classes and their respective engrams in Remnant 2
  • Author:
  • Updated:

When you first talk to Wallace in Remnant 2, he’ll ask you to choose between one of four classes (five if you have the Gunslinger DLC) but don’t think you’ll be stuck with it forever. There are ways to change your primary class, and even unlock secondary classes once you progress far enough in the story.

There are more than the base four to unlock too, check out how to unlock the Summoner class and the Explorer class, as well as our ranking for the best Remnant 2 classes.

We’ll tell you how to unlock secondary classes in Remnant 2, and where to find the items for the four base classes.

How to unlock secondary classes – Remnant 2

Remnant 2 Trait selection

To unlock secondary classes you must earn 10 Trait Points and spend them on any traits you choose. You can pick up trait points in the world from loot that shines a bright blue laid out on the floor.

To actually unlock any specific class you must get an engram.

How to get class engrams – Remnant 2

Remnant 2 Doc Norah shop

You can buy all four of the base class engrams from the various shops in Ward 13, the game’s hub area. Here are the items you need from each one:

  • Hunter – The War Medal from Brabas
  • Challenger – The Old Metal Tool from Reggie
  • Medic – The Medic Pin from Doc Norah
  • Handler – The Old Whistle from Mudtooth

Once you have any of these, take them to Wallace where he can turn them into engrams for 1,500 scrap and 10 Lumenite Crystals.