Skip to main content

FF7 Rebirth: How long to beat and full chapter list

How long you can expect to be playing Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth and the full chapter list
  • Author:
  • Updated:

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is considerably bigger than Remake, which means you’ll need to spend a lot of hours in the game if you want to beat it. The main reason for this is that Rebirth has left Final Fantasy 7 Remake’s linear structure behind and embraced a lush open world for you to explore instead.

If you want to learn more about this, you can check out our Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth review. In this guide, we’re breaking down how many hours it takes to beat Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, and the full chapter list, so you know exactly what you’re in for.

How long does it take to beat FF7 Rebirth?

As it’s typical of a big open-world RPG, the amount of hours you’ll spend on it depends mainly on your playstyle.

If you stick exclusively to the main story and skip most of the non-obligatory combat, you should be able to beat it in around 40 hours. If you want to enjoy the experience at its best, our estimate is that you’ll need about 100 hours to get through most of the side content and main quests. For completionists, this estimate goes up to 150 hours.

  • Story only: 40+ hours
  • World Intel completion: 70+ hours
  • Full completion: 150+ hours

This is significantly higher than Final Fantasy 7 Remake, which required 25-30 hours for a linear playthrough and up to 50 hours when taking into account Hard Mode and all of the side content.

Full chapter list – FF7 Rebirth

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Chapter Selection screen

Completing FF7 Rebirth's story will unlock the Chapter Selection menu and the option to replay chapters on Hard difficulty.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth includes 14 chapters, four fewer than Remake. This is the complete list:

  • Chapter 1 - Fall of a Hero
  • Chapter 2 - A New Journey Begins
  • Chapter 3 - Deeper into Darkness
  • Chapter 4 - Dawn of a New Era
  • Chapter 5 - Blood in the Water
  • Chapter 6 - Fool's Paradise
  • Chapter 7 - Those Left Behind
  • Chapter 8 - All That Glitters
  • Chapter 9 - The Planet Sins
  • Chapter 10 - Watcher of the Vale
  • Chapter 11 - The Long Shadow of Shinra
  • Chapter 12 - A Golden Key
  • Chapter 13 - Where Angels Fear to Tread
  • Chapter 14 - End of the World

Whereas Remake's chapters were about 30 minutes to 2 hours long, Rebirth expects you to spend much more time in each of them, mostly thanks to its wider levels.

If you've already played and completed the Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth demo, you may also want to know how to skip the Nibelheim flashback section in the full game.