Skip to main content

Epic Games is adding a Fortnite ranked mode to the battle royale and its zero build mode, the studio announced in a new blog post, and it’s happening soon. Fortnite ranked modes will go live with version 24.40, which launches on May 16, 2023, across PC and all platforms, and it’s replacing arena mode in competitive play.

You can level up your Fortnite rank in the multiplayer game’s traditional battle royale mode and zero build mode, with progress kept separately for each. Battle royale includes ranked support for solo, duos, and squads, though Zero Build will only have ranked mode for duos, at least to start with.

Unlike most competitive games with seven ranks, such as Apex Legends and Overwatch 2, Fortnite ranked mode will include eight ranks.

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Elite
  • Champion
  • Unreal

Each rank through Diamond includes three tiers to progress through.


The game will determine your rank and progress based on how you place in the match, how many eliminations you or your team earn, when in the match they took place, and eliminated opponents’ ranks. You’ll earn more rank points for eliminations that happen later in a match and more if your opponent is of a higher rank than you.

Ranked matches will spawn a ranked urgent quest once you leave the battle bus, and completing the quest before the match ends will earn you exclusive seasonal cosmetics. Ranked also makes a few changes to harvesting. Harvest times will speed up slightly, and your material cap will drop from 999 to 500.

Meanwhile, there's still no sign of Fortnite's first-person mode, despite a slew of rumors and some data-mined evidence suggesting it would happen soon.